Survey #1: What is your Favorite Reality Show and Why?

For my first survey I polled 30 students on campus and asked them out of these shows:

  • Love and Hip Hop
  • Basketball Wives
  • Black Ink Crew
  • Real House Wives of Atlanta

Which one was their favorite and why? The results weren’t surprising at all. I was actually shocked to see that Basketball Wives scored so low next to Real House Wives. However, Real House Wives is more popular among the older generation. Love and Hip Hop came out on top. Love and Hip Hop is very popular with this generation, for what reason, I don’t know.

 

vbar_39CD63B8

I also interviewed some of the students and asked them why they chose the show that they did.

“I like Love and Hip Hop because the show always has something interesting on every episode and Cardi B is my favorite. She always holds her own and she doesn’t let anyone get in her way.”-Dejia Lewis

“I like Real House Wives because the women are more mature and they have more class” -Kraya Campbell

“Black Ink Crew is drama all the time. It’s fun to watch!” -Shaquil Matthews

They all agreed the shows were entertaining, but when asked about how they felt about the portrayal of black women they all said, “As long as it isn’t about me or my family, it doesn’t matter to me.” I felt sad because our generation missed the whole point. It doesn’t matter if it’s not you or your family it’s about the depiction as a whole.

 

Image 7, 247 words

Leave a Reply

